Western Balkans and EU News
04.04.21 | News

Kosovo gets new President, domestic reforms and difficult talks with Serbia next

Prishtina, 04 April 2021, dtt-net.com – After a marathon session of voting launched yesterday, the Parliament of Kosovo today elected Vjosa Osmani, with 71 votes in favour, as country's new President, thus avoiding snap elections.

On Sunday afternoon a lawmaker from the opposition Democratic Party (PDK) and two of non-Serb minorities came to the rescue of Osmani’s candidacy thus forming the quorum of 81 votes needed for validation of the voting in the parliament.

With today's election of the President, early parliamentary elections are avoided in the EU hopeful country of the Western Balkans region.

Osmani comes from the ranks of the Democratic League (LDK) which she left to join the list with the Vetevendosje (VV) of the new Prime Minister Albin Kurti in February 14 elections.

The list got 58 seats in the parliament wining 50,28 percent of votes in the turnout of 48,78 percent.

Kurti and Osmani have campaigned for rule of law, fight against corruption and organized crime and employment.

On top of difficult tasks in domestic arena, the two will face top challenges which relate to the difficult EU-mediated talks, supported by the new government in Washington, with Serbia for a compromise.

The two new leaders are against the autonomy for Serb minority, the Association of Serb Municipalities (ASM), which was promised by earlier Kosovan governments in 2013 and 2015 and witnessed by the EU.

Kurti and Osmani and their supporters believe that granting the ASM to ten Serb-predominantly municipalities would gradually make Kosovan state dysfunctional and divided internally, similarly to the Bosnia and Herzegovina (BiH) model of power sharing based on ethnic lines and permanent threat of secession of four municipalities in the north, under heavy influence of Belgrade.

At the same time, Kosovan citizens hope and expect from the new PM and new President to convince EU member countries to end visa regime and bring more recognitions to Kosovo state, including from the five members of the European bloc: Cyprus, Greece, Romania, Slovakia and Spain.


04.04.21 | News